RSS Feed

Connecting the Dots

I currently have two seemingly unrelated thoughts swirling around in my head. Now to see if I can connect the dots. I beg encourage you to read until the end, no matter how much you want to run away … I want your opinions!

I just recently started going to a therapist. I decided that I deserve to be happy. Before my first session, I had many doubts. Doubts that she could make sense of my jumbled thoughts. Doubts that she could help me. But, I am just beginning to see the light. And, it feels good.

I have some depression and unresolved grief. That part is easy for me to understand the why’s of … even if I cannot exactly figure out how to help myself. (My therapist … let’s call her C, said we will get to that part later.) But, how I went from a competent, confident nurse to someone unable to hold a job of any kind due to anxiety is really beyond my comprehension. By breaking down my life into pieces, C has helped me to identify when it all started and how it all began to control me. A bunch of tears & a few panic attacks later, I learned that THAT was the simple part.

In the quest to find out my underlying issues, C has decided that due to some very negative influences in my life by some very judgmental (keep that word in mind because we will get back to that) people, followed by things that I see as “failures” in my life, I have begun to let their thoughts and actions sway my confidence, let their comments form my new negative self image and my supposed failures are all my anxiety needed to prove to me that these people are right. Wow!

So here is where I am at. (If you could care less where I am at and want to get on with the next part of this post, go to ** below) I have one central theme that begins controlling my thoughts. These thoughts are recurring but can change from day to day. As I obsess on these thoughts, my anxiety increases. In my home environment, my “safe” place, getting a handle on those thoughts turned out to be relatively quick. When my thought of the day began, I would acknowledge it and then write it all down. I call it giving the thought a voice. I would also write out my counter argument and then I give myself permission to let that thought go. For me, that has worked pretty well. One example from this past week, I had a best friend from the time that I was able to climb over the fence to her house. We were in the same grade and we were inseparable … until 6th grade. Out of the blue, she dumped me for a new best friend. It was tough for me. I guess I never really got over that hurt. I have often questioned what I did wrong. Was I not good enough? I still have dreams to this day of her talking to me and then in the middle she will just walk off and join a large group of people talking and laughing. I can feel the same childhood hurt all over again. So, for this scenario, I wrote down in detail the events surrounding the ending of our friendship. I wrote down how it made me feel. I wrote down the questions I would love to ask her ( but don’t really want to know the answers to). And then I wrote about all of the fun that we had and the joys that I had from being her friend. When I think of her now, I try to focus on the great parts of our friendship instead of the hurt. So far, so good.

The process involved in the environment outside of my home, more specifically job related, has not been so easy. Let’s say my mind is focused on a job as a cashier. My thoughts may cycle around “What if my drawer is short cash?” C’s answer is “So what?” When I tried my hand at working behind a seafood counter, I had a lot of problems hearing anyone due to the noise levels of all of the equipment. I felt like the other employees were watching my every move, judging me. C’s answer, “So what?” The answers to the question, “So what?” should not be so anxiety inducing when the stakes are not life or death. But, what about with nursing? What happens if I give the wrong medication? What happens if I treat the wrong patient? What happens if I make a mistake that I cannot fix? What if someone dies because of me? We are human, we make mistakes. But in all of those cases, “so what?” is a big deal! I know as a nurse, I am conscientious. I know that I do all of my double and triple checks. I know that I truly care about my patients. I know that I would never knowingly do something to hurt someone. But, “what if?’ has plagued my thoughts. It has shaken my confidence. It has made me question my purpose now that nursing seems like a lifetime ago.

** Now back to our word … judgmental. Before we go on, I feel a definition is in order. Miriam – Webster defines it as …

:tending to judge people too quickly and critically :of, relating to, or involving judgment

Recently in the news, there was a story about a Mom being photographed breastfeeding her baby in a restaurant. The poster of the picture made a comment about having to see this while eating his meal and with kids around. (I am not debating the issue of breastfeeding in public. I am also not debating the posting of a photo of a minor.) This Mom apparently was very adamant about receiving an apology for posting the photo and about the photo being removed. I cannot even begin to explain how I would have felt if this picture had been of me. But, how is this different from facebook friends posting photos of random people they see that are acting weird, dressed crazy or doing something extreme while they are out & about in their daily life? Or what about all of those People of Walmart posts? When did it become ok to judge people with or without all of the facts and then publicly call them out on it? Maybe people are dirty because they used their last dollar to buy their child food instead of a bar of soap. Maybe someone’s clothes are too small because their clothes burned in a fire and that is all that was donated to them. Maybe when you went out thinking you were dressed nicely someone else thought you looked hideous and posted your photo?

I will admit that I am guilty of occasionally forming negative opinions about those I come in contact with. But, before I speak or act on those thoughts, I try to determine if my thoughts need action or are they better off remaining just thoughts. I fail sometimes. But, I vow to never knowingly cause someone else undue anxiety or embarrassment for my own amusement.

If you made it this far, thank you! Now, for discussion … Most people form ideas or have opinions about other’s based on their dress or their speech or their actions. But what turns a seemingly harmless thought in your mind into a harsh judgment? When is it ok to speak whatever is on your mind without thought to the other person’s well being? Without thought to what is legally allowed, do you think it’s ok to post people’s photos without their knowledge on social media sites with your seemingly funny or negative comments? Would you be mad or think it was funny if you found a unflattering photo of yourself with a harsh comment on a facebook post?

About nonnymoose2014

I have recently retired from the healthcare field, nursing. As I try to figure out what I want to be when I grow up, this seemed like the perfect time to try my hand at blogging again. In the past, my success (or lack thereof) I believe hinged on my fear of revealing too much about myself. I have a desire to “put it all out there” BUT I want to do it on my own terms … anonymously! Thus came Nonny Moose.

4 responses »

  1. Good stuff for discussion. No, I don’t think it’s OK to post pics of anyone without their permission. I know I can be pretty judgmental in my thoughts. It’s not pretty. However, I try to find out the someone’s story before I let that negative (or positive) judgment become permanent.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. It is never ok to post pictures of people with judgmental remarks. Great insights here!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Chris Martin Writes

Life is a great big canvas, throw all the paint on it you can. - Danny Kaye

IMPREINTofficial

The official page of the artist created to host the project 'CUT OFF'.

RANTS!!!

The In's & Out's of Life's Quips & Quandries...SituationallySpeaking!

Grow & Resist

Growing food, family and connection. Resisting evil where I find it.

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

lucile de godoy

bridging lacunas

BEAUTIFUL WORDS

Inspiring mental health through creative arts and friendly interactions. (Award free blog)

life and all things

a reflective perspective

deeclarknz.wordpress.com/

Woman to Woman and Heart to Heart...helping each other on our journey

That's What I Said

Musings and Opinions - Free of Charge

Hypervigilant.org

Let's be honest. Adoption isn't easy, pretty, or fun. Except when it is.

This is patch

Creative Expression From an Introvert

Impromptu Promptlings

and peculiar ponderings...

tea blot

beginnings

Russell J. Fellows

Stories of Hope

Margret's Life Journey!

Part of the Joy of my Journey is planning and dreaming what comes next!

mrsmommyjohnson

Everyday life of a mommy with a side of random

Expressing my vision

A journey into creativity

The Dollar Diva

We're all looking for a 'good bargain' these days. If you think Dollar Tree only had 'cheap junk' and isn't worth the trip . . . READ ON! Get inspired and "Get thee to a Dollar Tree!" Then li

Paula's Photo 101

Stretching myself toward better photography

Life of Janine

Stumbling but never falling

Staying the Course

Navigating through Life

The chaotic life of the toad

Striving for a peaceful life

bigloseraspirations

My Journey Towards Health and Happiness

Donut to Dumbbell

a humorously serious attempt at health and fitness

GET RESURGATIZED

Moving forwards & making progress are two different things.

HealthWealthLife101

It's all about you! Live your life on your terms and enjoy every minute!!

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Only 100 Words

a 100-word story every day

Katydid's Creations

A blend of my photography & stories of life as it is for me

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

POSH & PRECIOUS

Another Mommy Blog

Victoria Feathers

My state of Jubilation

Cynthia M Voss

I grow little things, take pictures, cook, read

Circle C Chinchilla Ranch

Changing the world, one chinchilla at a time!

Merry Hearts Medicine

finding moments to choose joy and happiness

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

Pixels and Perspectives

Views of the World in Words and Pictures

the pickled pastor

a journey in recovery

Hope* the happy hugger

Life, love, happiness and most of all, kindness...

Beautiful world

Every day begins with a beautiful sunrise and ends with a glorious sunset

Embracing Uncertainty

as life unfolds

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

