RSS Feed

If I don’t do it for me, I should do it for him!

Current weight: 179.0

Starting weight: 190 Last weight: 179

Before my newest “meltdown” and relapse, I was unofficially down to 178. I must say that I am just happy at this point to have stayed in the 170’s … even if it meant no weight loss this past week.

I am going to work on a couple new goals this week …

Leading by example!

My youngest son is a little overweight. He is built a lot like my older son … short and stocky. As my older son aged and became interested in girls, he slimmed up on his own free will. Knowing how hard it is to lose weight, I have tried to encourage my children to make the right choices when they got older. But, unless their eating habits for the day had been so outrageous, I let them make their own choices. And, believe it or not, my youngest son is a great inspiration to me when trying to lose weight. He will say to me when I reach for an unhealthy choice … this isn’t your splurge day! It does make me think twice … on most days! I have also noted that when I reach for a pear, he will have an orange. He loves oranges. But, just as his mother, he loves chocolate, too. He is following his example!

Yesterday, I found that this example reaches further than I had previously thought. Each year, my youngest son’s gym class spends the last part of the school year training for a one mile run. They work up to it over a period of a few weeks and then have a test at the end. Their test is to run 1 mile in 15 minutes. This is no problem for most children his age. But, being a little overweight and having no desire to run (he is a total bookworm!), it is difficult for him. It would break my heart to hear him come home on his gym days and tell me that he was last, over his time and they were yelling at him to hurry up and finish! No! We have no biggest loser here … where other kids (or even the coach) runs back and runs with him to encourage him and help him make it over the finish line! They are screaming at him to hurry so they can move on and he is holding them up! Sad!

When this part of the school year approaches, we also begin training at home. It is always at the beginning of our beautiful Spring weather and we are all motivated to get outside and move. So, it is perfect! This year, we had just begun our training when he had his big fall. So, he used his knees as an excuse to skip a few workouts before test date. I feared the worst for his test. They re-test until they can do it but i did not want that for him. I wanted him to succeed the first time!

Yesterday was test day. I drove to school as I always do to pick him up. He jumped into the car with a smile on his face! He not only completed the run in a little over 14 minutes, he was not last!! But, my heart grew even more happy when he said … I did what you said! What?!? A hormonal pre-teen did what his Mom had suggested?

Now, it had been a little while since we had worked out together. And, did I mention he is a hormonal pre-teen?!? So, our workouts consisted of me eventually walking / running on my own while he lagged behind mad at me for something I had said or done. So, I was not exactly sure what I had suggested.

He said … you remember, when you told me to run a little slower and walk a little faster and to not drag my feet! Oh, yes! Our last couple walks, we had timed ourselves. He would come out of the shoot trying to get ahead of me but then tire out quickly to the point where he was walking slower than slow! Then he would get mad at me for getting ahead and literally drag his feet! I tried to explain to him that dragging his feet was using extra energy and slowing him down. In our last walk before his fall, I decided to discreetly show him what I was talking about. While he seemingly did not pay any attention to me, he walked the entire 1 mile dragging his feet and sulking. Instead of rattling off again about how to do it, I decided to show him how to do it. I walked a little warm up, jogged, walked, jogged, walked until I finished just under 15 minutes. I tried to set a perfect pace for him. I led by example without even realizing it! And, to my surprise, he HAD listened. I am so proud of him!

But, this just reinforced for me the fact that I need to watch what I do. If I cannot be healthy for me, I should do it for him!

Accountability!

I have stopped logging my food, exercise, etc on fitday.com Just being lazy! I need to get back to that to keep me accountable! Or, do as my friend over at Me & Alli  does and log it here.

I also intend to get back to my basic goals as planned from last week … drink more water, exercise every day, skip my splurge day.

As those who have read any of my previous posts know, I search for the positives in everything … to keep me motivated! So, I must leave on a positive note! While I am stuck at 11 pounds currently due more to the mental aspects of this all, I have lost 10 inches from my entire body! Wow! Is that possible? That’s amazing to me!

About nonnymoose2014

I have recently retired from the healthcare field, nursing. As I try to figure out what I want to be when I grow up, this seemed like the perfect time to try my hand at blogging again. In the past, my success (or lack thereof) I believe hinged on my fear of revealing too much about myself. I have a desire to “put it all out there” BUT I want to do it on my own terms … anonymously! Thus came Nonny Moose.

One response »

  1. I love reading about your relationship with your son, what a wonderful family you have. You’re so right, our kids learn from us even when we don’t realize we’re setting an example. My daughter came home from college the other night and she must have eaten half a loaf of bread while she stood there talking. Two guesses where she learned that from. I felt horrible, I’ve been a bad influence without even realizing it. You’re so right, we’ve got to set good examples for our kids, how great that you and your son walk together (and I loved the part about him dragging his feet and not talking to you, I can so relate to that!!!) Well now that you’ve made me aware of it I will try to start encouraging good habits with my kids. Great blog!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Chris Martin Writes

Life is a great big canvas, throw all the paint on it you can. - Danny Kaye

IMPREINTofficial

The official page of the artist created to host the project 'CUT OFF'.

RANTS!!!

The In's & Out's of Life's Quips & Quandries...SituationallySpeaking!

Grow & Resist

Growing food, family and connection. Resisting evil where I find it.

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

lucile de godoy

bridging lacunas

BEAUTIFUL WORDS

Inspiring mental health through creative arts and friendly interactions. (Award free blog)

life and all things

a reflective perspective

deeclarknz.wordpress.com/

Woman to Woman and Heart to Heart...helping each other on our journey

That's What I Said

Musings and Opinions - Free of Charge

Hypervigilant.org

Let's be honest. Adoption isn't easy, pretty, or fun. Except when it is.

This is patch

Creative Expression From an Introvert

Impromptu Promptlings

and peculiar ponderings...

tea blot

beginnings

Russell J. Fellows

Stories of Hope

Margret's Life Journey!

Part of the Joy of my Journey is planning and dreaming what comes next!

mrsmommyjohnson

Everyday life of a mommy with a side of random

Expressing my vision

A journey into creativity

The Dollar Diva

We're all looking for a 'good bargain' these days. If you think Dollar Tree only had 'cheap junk' and isn't worth the trip . . . READ ON! Get inspired and "Get thee to a Dollar Tree!" Then li

Paula's Photo 101

Stretching myself toward better photography

Life of Janine

Stumbling but never falling

Staying the Course

Navigating through Life

The chaotic life of the toad

Striving for a peaceful life

bigloseraspirations

My Journey Towards Health and Happiness

Donut to Dumbbell

a humorously serious attempt at health and fitness

GET RESURGATIZED

Moving forwards & making progress are two different things.

HealthWealthLife101

It's all about you! Live your life on your terms and enjoy every minute!!

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Only 100 Words

a 100-word story every day

Katydid's Creations

A blend of my photography & stories of life as it is for me

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

POSH & PRECIOUS

Another Mommy Blog

Victoria Feathers

My state of Jubilation

Cynthia M Voss

I grow little things, take pictures, cook, read

Circle C Chinchilla Ranch

Changing the world, one chinchilla at a time!

Merry Hearts Medicine

finding moments to choose joy and happiness

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

Pixels and Perspectives

Views of the World in Words and Pictures

the pickled pastor

a journey in recovery

Hope* the happy hugger

Life, love, happiness and most of all, kindness...

Beautiful world

Every day begins with a beautiful sunrise and ends with a glorious sunset

Embracing Uncertainty

as life unfolds

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

