RSS Feed

Eeewh! That’s just gross!

I woke up several days ago feeling as if a grape were stuck in the back of my throat. At first I thought great, I have strep throat. But, (gulp), my throat isn’t sore, no fever …. Fast forward a few days, and bam! A huge white clump in the back of my throat and an increased feeling that something was stuck there. So, to the internet I go.

My first stop was at Ebonie Expressions – http://kree8v1.wordpress.com/2007/04/07/stinky-balls/

flowers-005

Ok, I know I am a nurse, but that just grosses me out! Tonsil stones! Yuck, is all I can say!

I read that you could scrape them off (easier said than done). Gag, literally! So, I tried gargling with salt water, scraping, spraying with Vicks 44 throat spray, scraping, coughing and scraping some more. Finally, off it came. Unlike others, I resisted the urge to smell it!! Eewh! Did I mention … that’s just gross?

About nonnymoose2014

I have recently retired from the healthcare field, nursing. As I try to figure out what I want to be when I grow up, this seemed like the perfect time to try my hand at blogging again. In the past, my success (or lack thereof) I believe hinged on my fear of revealing too much about myself. I have a desire to “put it all out there” BUT I want to do it on my own terms … anonymously! Thus came Nonny Moose.

40 responses »

  1. … that is gross.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I have them too, my tongue is exceptionally long so I can lodge them out with my tongue. I have had strep throat numerous times and I have been told that this causes holes in your tonsils. If your tongue is long you may be able to lodge it out, if not try to stick your finger or a Q-tip back there without gagging. I have had them for years and I get about one a month. My guesses are the same thing might happen to you. I have never had one lasting for more than a month. Usually they last two or three days. They’re not that bad, they are just annoying. But once you figure out how to deal with them they are nothing to worry about.

    Like

    Reply
  3. i too have them and think they’re gross.
    i also have a super sensitive gag reflex.
    it’s a pain to get them out.
    my weapon of choice is a straw.
    you have to be gentle, but it’s just enough to scoop it out.

    bleckity bleck.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Lee N – thanks for your reply! This last time I got them (yes again!) I was actually able to cough them out somewhat accidentally. But, if they are ever lodged tight like the first time, I will have to try the straw. I never thought of that. Thanks Katie!

    Like

    Reply
  5. The easiest way to get them out is a blackhead remover. You can get them from Walgreens. I push my tonsils out by semi gagging I guess u can call it and breath out my nose. and use a light to get them out. I use the small loop of the blackhead remover and it pops them out. The only thing is I get them a lot so i have developed a semi obsession of popping them out.

    Like

    Reply
  6. I too get these and not sure how to stop them from coming back. I have one of those kits you get in the dental section at walmart-like what the dentist uses, and found that it works well to get rid of them.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Yeah i get them. Mine have never been as big as i that picture at the top though.

    i had tonsilitus about a year ago, and i had what looked like blisters or something on them. they ended up going after 2 weeks, thank god, because i couldnt eat for the whole time i had them. ouchie, but since they went, my tonsils are still enlarged, and i used to get little ones coming out when i try and swallow things.

    i have also become obsessed with popping them out, i poke at them with pens and try and open out the holes haha, ew.

    last week i was off school because i thought i had a huge one stuck in my throat, and i couldnt sleep because it was so uncomfortable =/

    but when i looked, another huge hole had formed in the top.

    i use a seringe to get them out, with warm salt water in.

    feels so nice to clean them out

    xo

    Like

    Reply
  8. hey i get these all the time. I was reading about them in a dental forum. It turns out its just food and bacteria that gets stuck in your tonsil holes and people that have them tend to not get sick as often. You can just scratch them off and they arent harmful.

    Like

    Reply
  9. i also have tonsil stones. the most effective way of getting them out is by using a small pair of tweezers, not a straw or syringe or anything that is used to scrape them off.

    Like

    Reply
  10. The tweezer thing just didn’t work for me. Call it lack of coordination or whatever, but I resorted back to the straw method … which seems to be the best idea for me at this point. Darn tonsil stones!!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Q-Tip.

    Poke the area AROUND the stone, which should pop it out like a blackhead

    Like

    Reply
  12. Tonsil stones have ruined my social life. My breath is so bad even I can smell it because it kicks back on me. I’m going to see an Ear, Nose & Throat doctor to see if he had a more effective method of removing these smelly little bastards. I gargle, I poke, I push and I can’t get them all out. They are deep in the crypts of my tonsils.

    Like

    Reply
  13. I think the best way to get rid of the nasty freakin’ stink- ass tonsil stones is to use a waterpik- type apparatus. My ENT suggested it about ten years ago and I use it now a few times a month. It’s kinda fun, you get to wash out your tonsils and most of the time, some stones come up! Then you can pick them out of the sink and squish them if you’d like 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  14. This is sooo funny to see how many people have this problem. I developed “tonsil stones” about two years ago. I dealt with it for a few months, but couldn’t take it. I like a few others, did become obsessed with removing them, however the smell was disturbing. It was such a dirty feeling to know no matter how much I brushed, flossed, etc. my breath stunk a little because of them. I had them really bad on both tonsils. Finally I saw an ENT and the very next day he removed my tonsils. This was a drastic measure to take, but it is the ONLY permanent cure. While the recovery HURT LIKE HELL, I’m so glad I decided to have the surgery.

    Like

    Reply
  15. yah, i have these to. the only way to stop them permanatly is to have your tonsils removed. they form cause of deep pockets in the tonsils and then stuff gets stuff in there.

    Like

    Reply
  16. i have them and this has been pretty helpfull. i only get them a couple times a year usually around allergy season. That crap smells soooo bad and i feel like everyone can smell it. the idea about a straw sounds good. thanks

    Like

    Reply
  17. incredible how many people are actually troubled by this.
    I’ve had them for about three years, and they started the week I moved to England to study!!Maybe it’s because there is more pollution here, than in Norway.

    I used a Q-tip to poke around the area where the tonsil stone was set, but I was told by my doctor, that if you poke your tonsils, you might end up shovveling more bacteria into the holes. I.e. you create more stones yourself, without knowing. It takes about a month or so, for them to get big enough to push themselves slightly out.

    I’ve just had my tonsils out, (wednesday)
    and I’m hoping and praying that leaves me with no more stones.. The pain in the first few days, is exceedingly horrid though. But I think I still would do it again..

    Best of Luck to everyone.
    Jeanette x

    Like

    Reply
  18. Been to see ENT doctor and he didn’t really comment just said I could have my tonsils out if I wanted as occasially get tonsilitus too but worried about how much it is going to hurt, I’m 20 and heard it more painful the older you are?

    Like

    Reply
    • As a person who had their tonsils out at 27 I would NOT recommend having them taken out as an adult unless your condition is dangerous or completely unbearable.

      I remember 7 days flat on my back after surgery. Ice cream? Hell, if it wasn’t room temperature I wouldn’t look at it, & then the only reason I started eating was because my mother (normally unflappable) was in tears at the foot of the bed sobbing that I wouldn’t recover if I didn’t eat. Rice would get stuck up in my stitches, which was even worse than the stones. Pronouncing the “k” and “g” sounds was painful for months, and took even longer to be able to do right (minor, yes, but embarassing AND painful when your name starts with a “k” sound). Terrifying unexpected bleeding & more terrifying emergency cauterization of the wound.. It was a miserable, miserable recovery.

      Truthfully, my doctor said it was the worst recovery he’d ever seen. But I remember, every time I talked to people about tonsilitis before the surgery?: The ones who had them out as kids would babble on about ice cream. The ones who did it as adults would do things like grip my shoulder, look me in the eye and say, “You’ll be OK.” Talk to the adult tonsilectomy patients before you do it as an elective surgery.

      I also remember the day –almost a year later– when I woke up and said: WHOA. I feel …good. It was an amazing moment. And in the balance, for me, it was worth it: I hardly ever get sore throats anymore (although I do get more colds). I don’t randomly wake up to spit clotted blood in the sink. I’ll never miss another Valentine’s Day First Date because my throat is too swollen to swallow my own spit. And tonsil stones? Zilch.

      But just to avoid discomfort & bad breath? No. No and no and no.

      Tonsils can grow back. I live in terror of this. I would have a very hard time convincing myself to get the surgery again, given how bad my recovery was. (Several doctors, though, have assured me they are still gone & that whoever took them out did a very nice job.)

      Maybe there’s other people out there who can tell less gruesome stories, but by me, the short answer is “YES. It _IS_ more painful as you get older.” It’s also not without risk. If your doctor isn’t saying “yes, you need these out” and you aren’t saying, “I seriously can not live with this discomfort,” it’s probably too early to look at surgery.

      Like

      Reply
  19. The surgery doesn’t hurt that bad. I had a laser removal of my tonsils when I was 27 due to frequent infections. Best thing I ever did.

    Like

    Reply
  20. I’ve had tonsil stones off and on for about 35 years. Last ones were simultaneous with a sinus infection last year.

    I have finally realized that I must take antihistamine and decongestant DAILY to avoid sinus infections. Suspect the tonsilloliths have stopped as a side effect to keeping my sinuses healthy.

    It’s also possible that certain foods promote t. stone formation. I used to notice t. stones after eating corn kernels (as vegetable or as popcorn). Also, I avoid yeast breads nowadays and have to wonder if they contributed to t. stones.

    Kinda miss those little buggers…*grin*

    Like

    Reply
  21. Well i just kicked out my first tonsil stone today. I was freaked out at first looking at some of the other information online saying that it is bad to remove them yourself. It felt like a peice of corn was stuck in the back of my throat, a horrible feeling!
    I took it out with a tooth pick, very nice, just poked at it a bit and that was it, pop, out it came.
    It was very disturbing though, i’ve never had something like that, or at least ive never noticed it before a few days ago.
    2 years ago i had tonsillitis, so in a way i blame that for making a crypt in my tonsils. Thank god it wasnt a big tonsil stone, that was my biggest worry.

    Like

    Reply
  22. i have something like that right now i have one big hole on my right one and n the left theres some white stuff stuck there im 13 ive gotten them before and they came out on there own but it came back so my parents r gonna take me to see a docter

    Like

    Reply
  23. Good luck at the doctor goggershmoof! Do let us know what your doctor says! I recently found out that my mother was plagued by these as a child, too! They took her tonsils out. However, I have heard that now days they tend not to want to take them out for this anymore. I say any doctor who had to deal with these would definitely want to help! They are quite bothersome. I have tried daily antihistamines and allergy meds, gargling with salt water and mouthwash and nothing keeps them away. Basically, one comes out and immediately another drops down in it’s place that is bigger and more irritating!! And, thanks to everyone who has taken the time to comment! It helps to hear your stories!

    Like

    Reply
  24. Use the end of a bobby pin – this works very well. The thin round end will help pull them out instead of lodge them in deeper.

    Like

    Reply
    • I personally could not use a bobby pin. Mine are lodged way too far back there for me to reach with something so short. I would also be afraid I would let go of it and choke myself.

      Like

      Reply
    • A straightened out bobby pin is what i tend to use if it is really getting to me.
      I have had them since i can remember i was 7 at least. And i am growin very tired of having the feeling of them, and im thinking about telling my dr that i want my tonsils removed since it is the only way to get rid of them for good.

      Like

      Reply
  25. What works best for me is a simple water pick or water jet. I got one from walmart for about $25 a few years back from walmart. I use it on a low setting and rinse out the problem areas of my tonsils. Sometimes I will use a higher setting if I can tell something is stuck. I use it about every other day and it seems to work really well. Just my two cents. It may be a little more costly but Im tellin you it is worth it.

    Like

    Reply
    • Tony, I have heard of others recommending the waterpick. I have been hesitant to try it because I am afraid it will feel like I am drowning. It would definitely be worth the money to avoid the stones! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      Reply
  26. OMG! I woke up the other day with a killer sore throat and bad taste in my mouth figured i had strep but could feel something on the back of my thhroat so i took a peak and could see somehing white i knew what it was i ha coughed them out before so i took a toothpick and picked it out. Later that day i thought i would have another look around, i pushed back a part of skin infront of my tonsil and urgh!!Looked like a cluster of mggots were taking over my tonsils!!!Being a panic case i freaked out asked my husband what it was he said it was puss, but i knew it was no tonsilitis as i had had it many times bfore.
    So i came online and found out about ‘Tonsil stones’ So i went straight back in there with a toothpick and there was a big group of about 10 of these little things,but i also noticed i have a great big hole in my tonsil!!Does anyone else have a huge hole??
    Oh and by the way Urgh!!!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, i look to see if i can see any “stones” coming up and i have holes all in my left tonsil, my right one hasn’t given me any “stones” for a few years, but i worry that it is extremely swolen in comparison to the other side.

      Like

      Reply
  27. This forumn is great!!!! I think the internet is really helping show and document many conditions people have. For the last week i have had this awful odour in mouth, didnt matter if i brushed my teether or gargled mout wash for minutes, as soon as i rinsed, bam it was back. So i took a look back there, and noticed some white substance figuring it would be more liquid then anything and sure enough, i would poke at it and i ended up shoving it backfurther , so i coughed and coughed like i was bring up flem really concentrating on the sides of my mouth and BAM out it shot, the most disgusting thing it close to half an inch big, not to mention the awful taste in my mouth has no disappeared i am now in the process of contimplating my removel of the the tonsils, andy feedback would be great

    Like

    Reply
    • I agree NoAlias! The internet is great! From what I have been told, doctors are a little hesistant to remove your tonsils due to the tonsil stones. However, it is always best to discuss any condition with your doctor, anyway. There are some great suggestions on here on what has worked for others! Do come back and let us know what you have found out! Thanks for your comment!

      Like

      Reply
  28. I just recently found some in the back of my throat and ive found the best and painless way to remove them is so get a seringe and irrigate. shhoting water in the holes pushes them right out and only takes a few seconds. I usually irrigate the hole once a week and it seems to have stop them from forming. So if getting your tonsils removed isnt an option, then irrigating every so often seems like a permanant cure.

    Like

    Reply
  29. I’ve been having this problem for probably 2 months now and thought I was some freak with little white balls popping out from the back of my throat. I figured something was terribly wrong with me but it makes me relieved to read all these similar stories. I have not been to the doctor about it but I’m thinking I want to do that. I really wish I didn’t have this 😦

    Like

    Reply
    • Whenever i said something to my dr awhile back, he shook his head at me told me id be fine and that it was normal. I wasnt so sure i believed him because no one else in my family has/had them.
      But now knowing that there realy are other people that have them it calms me down a little but i still do NOT believe that the whole possses of them is a good thing.

      Like

      Reply
  30. I had these. They would come every month like a period. They would be packed in there and I would have a few large ones and some small ones. When my body decided that it was time for them to come out they push forward and I could see them in the hole in each one of my tonsils. Guess how I got rid of them permanently? I got my tonsils removed. No more stinky little bastards shooting out of my tonsils at awkward times…it’s great!

    Like

    Reply
  31. READ THE COMMENT ABOVE IF YOU REALLY WANT TO GET RID OF THE STINKY BALLS OF SHAME! MINE USED TO FLY OUT WHEN I TALKED AND COUGHED. I EVEN GOT SOME ON PEOPLE A FEW TIMES! I HAD THEM FOR 21 YEARS AND NOW I AM FREE AT LAST!

    Like

    Reply
  32. I am amazed at how many people have this problem! I’ve never heard of it, and from what I’ve read, I hope sincerely that I never experience this! Bless those of you who have had to deal with this, and you all must be lovely folks to share this experience with the world! I mean no sarcasm here. Sometimes you just have a problem and you want to find out if someone else has it, but you hate to ask! This is a great way to share.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Chris Martin Writes

Life is a great big canvas, throw all the paint on it you can. - Danny Kaye

IMPREINTofficial

The official page of the artist created to host the project 'CUT OFF'.

RANTS!!!

The In's & Out's of Life's Quips & Quandries...SituationallySpeaking!

Grow & Resist

Growing food, family and connection. Resisting evil where I find it.

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

lucile de godoy

bridging lacunas

BEAUTIFUL WORDS

Inspiring mental health through creative arts and friendly interactions. (Award free blog)

life and all things

a reflective perspective

deeclarknz.wordpress.com/

Woman to Woman and Heart to Heart...helping each other on our journey

That's What I Said

Musings and Opinions - Free of Charge

Hypervigilant.org

Let's be honest. Adoption isn't easy, pretty, or fun. Except when it is.

This is patch

Creative Expression From an Introvert

Impromptu Promptlings

and peculiar ponderings...

tea blot

beginnings

Russell J. Fellows

Stories of Hope

Margret's Life Journey!

Part of the Joy of my Journey is planning and dreaming what comes next!

mrsmommyjohnson

Everyday life of a mommy with a side of random

Expressing my vision

A journey into creativity

The Dollar Diva

We're all looking for a 'good bargain' these days. If you think Dollar Tree only had 'cheap junk' and isn't worth the trip . . . READ ON! Get inspired and "Get thee to a Dollar Tree!" Then li

Paula's Photo 101

Stretching myself toward better photography

Life of Janine

Stumbling but never falling

Staying the Course

Navigating through Life

The chaotic life of the toad

Striving for a peaceful life

bigloseraspirations

My Journey Towards Health and Happiness

Donut to Dumbbell

a humorously serious attempt at health and fitness

GET RESURGATIZED

Moving forwards & making progress are two different things.

HealthWealthLife101

It's all about you! Live your life on your terms and enjoy every minute!!

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Only 100 Words

a 100-word story every day

Katydid's Creations

A blend of my photography & stories of life as it is for me

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

POSH & PRECIOUS

Another Mommy Blog

Victoria Feathers

My state of Jubilation

Cynthia M Voss

I grow little things, take pictures, cook, read

Circle C Chinchilla Ranch

Changing the world, one chinchilla at a time!

Merry Hearts Medicine

finding moments to choose joy and happiness

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

Pixels and Perspectives

Views of the World in Words and Pictures

the pickled pastor

a journey in recovery

Hope* the happy hugger

Life, love, happiness and most of all, kindness...

Beautiful world

Every day begins with a beautiful sunrise and ends with a glorious sunset

Embracing Uncertainty

as life unfolds

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

